TRILLIUMS AND MEMORIES

As the Trillium grandiflora fade in Muskoka, once again I think of Joan Brown.  Joan was an avid naturalist who, as she had to sell her beloved home on Lake Roseau, gave me and others some of her truly grandiflora, grandiflora.  This year I have nine blooms.

TrilliumGrandifloraJoanBrownOne178303

I have shared images of these spectacular trilliums before and every year I think of Joan and her love for all wildflowers and all things wild.

I have only one other Trillium grandiflora blooming on my property that I know of and it is the regular ones.   With mostly oaks and pines my soil is too acidic for most woodland flowers.  Bunchberry and Trailing Arbutus are the exceptions and not to be downplayed.

Thanks, Joan!

One thought on “TRILLIUMS AND MEMORIES

Leave a Reply

